Things I don’t understand

Yes I am 17 and am practically new to the world but that doesn’t mean I can’t be knowledgeable about our society. I grew up in many homes and don’t share the same views as my immediate family (I’ve written a handful of essays on this) so I pull my political knowledge from research. I find it funny that a person can completely contradict themselves by disregarding there personal morals to prove a point or stay loyal to a political party. I don’t want to talk about politics because I will get was too into it but I thought I’d share something 

Today my friend sent me a video of a movie trailer and the plot, in a nutshell, was coworkers were being blackmailed to kill each other and the drastic extents they had to go to. It mentioned something like at the end of the day it’s every man for himself. I found that interesting. So I’ve been watching a show called black mirrors on Netflix which I highly recommend to anyone out there. Anyways I can only watch a single episode at a time because they are intense, not in a scary way but more of a “I’m going to think about this for the next week” way. I’ve found that the film industry has a slight obsession with the plot of blackmail and how far it will push people to go. It’s a common theme and I can understand why but how far will we go with this. At least once in your life you are stuck between a rock and a hard place, how you got there doesn’t matter. It boils down to the fact that you have to make one of two decisions: face whatever consequence lay in front of you or disregard your personal morals to save your pride. 

If I were faced with the decisions that the people had to make in the movie trailer I’d like to say I’d make the right choice. I can’t really honestly state that not knowing what I would do in a situation like that but I can make an educated guess. I think the past generations have been so obsessed with power and money that even life or death doesn’t make us hesitate when trying to achieve these things. Perhaps it’s just me and my late night rambles but I think that society has never and will never be a perfect place. But hey, I can’t be sad cause life is rad. 

Leave a Reply

