New Years 

New year new me? Haha no. I don’t believe in sudden change at the strike of a clock. I believe change happens gradually with the agreement of your subconscious. So I have not changed since December 31st 2016 at 11:59pm. Anyways, enough ramble about my New Years philosophy.

*A short vent about the wordpress Mobile app:

I would like to personally thank WordPress for deleting my first version of this post (it only took me an hour to write). It’s greatly appreciated. 

Also I didn’t want to write a blog post about the travel back from Baja because it’s not that interesting, trust me. It was an average plane ride accept I was lucky enough to get chosen for the random security check. 

New Years evening:

Let me start by saying I’m not very social, or at least I wasn’t through most of high school (which I’m still in). Last New Years I went to bed at 9pm and ate a bowl of ice cream. My 60 year old great aunt did more partying than me that night. 

When I lived in Napa I was socially restricted in many ways so I have had to learn how to be social. My friends, Taylor and Jelly, that I mentioned in a previous post, have been undoubtedly significant in my social flourishing. They have introduced me to many new people which is great because I couldn’t have done it on my own. I’ve grown more comfortable and confident than I could have ever imagined. So let me explain how this was taken to another level on New Years. 

Our plans are messy and we usually don’t have a solid plan until the last minute. We are teenagers, what can you expect?  Well on this particular night many things were going a bit wrong but in the end they resolved themselves. Jelly almost couldn’t make it but was able to last minute which was great. So we all headed to the clock tower for the count down. On the way there we ran into a ton of people I knew. We ran into a few that I have known from elementary and who have grown in popularity. After being greeted by a dozen people I knew, I felt confident in my social capabilities. 

We have a group of friends known as simply “the boys”. Creative, I know. Well they joined us in the affair of walking to the clock tower and taking part in the countdown. Let me preface this with the fact that I don’t dance. I mean this as in I physically cannot dance, but I did. Taylor, Jelly, and I all danced while “the boys” laughed at us. We didn’t care, we were enjoying ourselves. When the clock striked midnight we decided to go to the beach. 

It has been particularly cold and by cold I mean it has been freezing. But you know, who doesn’t want to go to the beach at 12:30 am? We went and Taylor and some of the boys jumped in the water. I knew I didn’t want to freeze. Afterwards we all headed to Jelly’s swimming pool to swim. Being the dead of winter, none of us had swim suits. This wasn’t a problem though because in the short amount of time we have known each other, we have grown increasingly more comfortable. In other words, we swam in our underwear. 

The pool wasn’t that warm so we ran to the pool shower and sauna where we hung out for a while then got a ride from Taylor’s mom home. Taylor, Alec, and I all crammed in Taylor’s bed while Alex slept on the floor. The night was great. 

Of course for the past few days Jelly, Taylor, and I have been inseparable. The boys have been hanging out every night and last night we made a giant super bed in the living room and all slept there. Today we went on a hike and watched movies while it rained an incredible amount considering California’s drought. We have grown so comfortable with each other that it’s like we are practically siblings. 

My friends back in Napa feel that I am changing and being influenced negatively, what they don’t understand that this is the first time I have been able to be myself aside from being able to at my favorite place on earth. It’s hard explaining this to them because they are a year behind me now and don’t realize that I am trying to make the most of my lasts year of high school (which has already been greater than all of my years in high school combined). It’s hard to explain that this profound change has occurred because my blissful dream is bleeding into my reality. My dreams are coming true and I have some of the best people I have ever met by my side. I don’t blame them for not understanding, perhaps when they feel they can be themselves, they too will understand. 

Happy new Years and holidays to everyone! 

Leave a Reply

