Aspirations 

Over my lifetime, a whole 17 years, I have felt passionate about several aspirations. When I was twelve I wanted a dog. I wanted a German short haired pointer. At the time, the place I was living, it wasn’t possible to have a dog but I knew that the place I was at was temporary. So I began to plan.

I used my precious internet time to research everything about the breed and to this day still have the folder with all my information. I first found an old skittles piggy bank that I remember to this day and I began to save. I got paid for chores but it didn’t quite cut it. I had to come up with clever ways to make money since I was too young for a job. I began to make jewelry from scraps of old jewelry people didn’t want, stockpiled, and invested in supplies. I made earrings mostly and would go door to door selling them. I was inspired by Where The Red Fern Grows and kept up my hard work. I took on another project of making little pot holders for kitchen ovens. I would use a loom and weave them together then go door to door selling them. I then invested into a car washing devices and washed cars in the warmer months. I worked and worked for 9 months and earned $500. I was $250 short of my goal but I was moving. I finally got my dog. His name was scout and I loved him dearly. 

The moral of the story was my motivation. I haven’t felt this motivation in a long time about anything like I do about this van conversion. It’s brought out my other passionate dream.

I love writing and one day want to write a novel. I don’t have time because school gets in the way, to me school is more of a distraction as I have gotten older. I want to write and travel but how I wanted to do that was unclear until a few months ago. Now I am looking up things to make this dream a reality. It’s hard to ignore a constant itch and this is what taht feels like. I’m hungry for information on vans and continue to research. It’s a long shot and frankly quite crazy but I finally found a motivation. I found the same desire I had when I was 12. Perhaps I can make this dream a reality, but how long will I have to wait this time? 

Leave a Reply

